The Road to Intimacy – Part 1

March 30, 2007 at 4:36 pm 3 comments

I am including the contents of a women’s devotional I put together a few years ago. I am revisiting it in response to Scot McKnight’s teaching on “mistakes missional gospel folks need to avoid.”

Please comment and let me know which mistakes I may not have avoided well in this piece. I will include the whole text over the next few days.

The Road to Intimacy – Part 1

This life is like a Journey,
but I do not know the end.
Where will this road lead to?
Will I travel with a friend?

The road to intimacy is an oft traveled one. We meander down that familiar route hoping to find the desire of our soul, but too frequently we are disappointed. Companions promise to travel with us and satisfy the longing in our heart, but many turn instead and go another way. There is one companion, however, who not only desires to waslk this road with us, but who will never leave us.

God desires intimacy with us.

God created us to know Him and to walk with Him in this journey of life. God walked with the first mand and woman in the beginning of creation. Adam and Eve were intimate with God and with each other. Completely comfortable in each other’s presence, they walked naked and unashamed. God created us for intimacy and He wants to fulfill our need.

“Oh the comfort, the inexpressible comfort of feeling safe with a person; having neither to weigh thoughts nor to measure words but to pour them all out, just as it is, chaff and grain together, knowing that a faithful hand will take and sift them, keeping what is worth keeping, and then with the breath of kindness, blow the rest away.” – George Eliot, a female writer in the Victorian Era.

God wants us to know Him and live with Him forever.

“Be still and know that I am God.” – Psalm 46:10 (NIV)

“And this is eternal life, that they may know You, the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom You have sent.” John 17:3 (NKJV)

God has always loved us.

“Yes, I haved loved you with an everlasting love; Therefore with lovingkindness I have drawn you.” Jeremiah 31:3 (NKJV)

“For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have eternal life.” John 3:16 (NKJV)

Coming soon – The Road to Intimacy – Part 2

Entry filed under: "the fall", gospel, intimacy.

Generation Transformation The Road to Intimacy – Part 2

3 Comments

  • 1. Peggy  |  March 31, 2007 at 1:41 am

    Elizabeth, I came over from your comment at Jesus Creed before you had this post up. I’m glad I stopped back! I look forward to reading the rest of the story.

    I’ve looked around some…and hope to stop back again.

    Blessings,

  • 2. Elizabeth Chapin  |  March 31, 2007 at 4:22 am

    Thanks for stopping in on my blog – this is a new venture for me and I am enjoying it so far. I love the dialogue.

  • 3. spadinofamily  |  July 2, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    I think you should read some Tim Keller and keeping the Gospel central and embed some of those ideas into these thoughts like I have on my BLOG.

    yahoo search or google Tim Keller

Trackback this post


Sign Up for Email Newsletter!

Sign up to get email newsletter updates delivered straight to your inbox. I will send out a newsletter once or twice a year. I promise to never sell, trade, spam or do anything inappropriate with your information.
Click here to sign up!

Help STOP Sex Trafficking!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

ChapinChick on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives

© 2012 Chapin Chaotic Creations

