Holy Human Hybrid – Crucified with Christ

May 11, 2007 at 4:15 pm

I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me. Galatians 2:20 NKJV

Christ lives in me.

I no longer live.

How can this be? Who is this “I” we are talking about here? My body is still the same – well, it’s changed quite a bit in my four decades of existence, but when I chose to believe in Jesus my skin color didn’t change, my gender remains the same, my eyes are still stormy blue, my physical being still contains the same DNA I was born with on June 20, 1964. Paul must be referring to the immaterial me – my spirit, or soul – the essence of who I am as a thinking, feeling, relating human being. Most of us believe our existence is more than just the material – except my atheist friend who believes all our thoughts, feelings, and decision making ability are chemical processes in the brain. It is true that chemical reactions happen in the brain when we think and feel, but they are reactions – reactions to some immaterial force.

So, at one time a force existed within me – one that was uniquely tied to my DNA – but at some point that force died and a new one was created and united with Christ to form a new force, a new essence creating new thoughts, new hopes, new dreams. A new essence that is somehow not tied to my original DNA. Some believe God exists in three different persons or expressions – Father, Son, and Holy Spirt. If we are created in the image of God, then perhaps we exist in three parts. We exist in a physical realm- the realm that Jesus entered when He appeared as a man and lived on planet earth. We exist in a rational realm – thinking, feeling, creating, choosing, and believing. We exist in a spiritual realm – a realm that is bound by nothing, but connected to the heavens and to the earth. I separate these realms in description, but they are intricately inter-related. Paul sometimes refers to these three realms as the body, soul and spirit.

But still there is this mystery of Christ living in me – the spirit of Christ in me. But is it the spirit of Christ alone or is Christ united with something? Perhaps this new creation is a hybrid of some sort – a holy human hybrid – a joining of the pure and holy spirit of Christ with a brand new human Spirit that was created when my old spirit was put to death? Does this mean I am now for parts – body, soul, new “me” spirit, and Christ? Am I in some sense possessed by Christ? I believe the new spirit in me is a united spirit in the sense that a man and woman are united in marriage. There are two distinct personalities – Christ + me – but somehow they become one. When Paul was speaking of the marriage union as an example of Christ and the church we often think of this on a group level and in some future sense, but what if it’s more personal and individual – in my spirit am I somehow already married to Christ?

Now for some controversial thoughts – if the spirit of Christ is male, does this mean all our spirits in some sense are female? For a man to remain solely masculine, must he separate himself from his own spirit? Are men who struggle with same sex attraction more connected to their spirit? Is it through this hybridization of our spirits that we become more fully human, more balanced, more complete – whole persons?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Holy Human Hybrid Holy Human Hybrid – Discipline


Sign Up for Email Newsletter!

Sign up to get email newsletter updates delivered straight to your inbox. I will send out a newsletter once or twice a year. I promise to never sell, trade, spam or do anything inappropriate with your information.
Click here to sign up!

Help STOP Sex Trafficking!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

ChapinChick on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives

© 2012 Chapin Chaotic Creations

