True Confessions of a Messie

August 5, 2007 at 4:28 pm

Ever since the day I got married, I have felt a certain pressure (not put on my by me husband, but by my own imaginations of cultural expectations) to be neater than when I lived on my own. And then the kids came. Talk about a mess – especially by the time we had four kids five and under 🙂 OK, so that only lasted for a month until our oldest turned six, but small kids and messes seem to go hand in hand – unless you’re a neat freak and plan to spend all your time picking up after others. NOT!

So, I am not a neat freak – but my step-mom was, and my grandma was pretty tidy. I learned some useful cleaning skills from both and have a natural inclination for creating organized systems, but for some reason I balk against the cultural idea that cleanliness is next to godliness or that neatness is necessary for a healthy, functioning family. A certain amount of disorder is not only unavoidable, I believe it can create an environment for healthy freedom of expression and individuality.

I recently had a book recommended to me called A Perfect Mess: The Hidden Benefits of Disorder. So far it has been a refreshing read. After all the years of putting myself under pressure to be neat and organized, I am starting to shed the guilt and same of my personal disorder and accept my disorderliness as potentially positive thing instead of a part or me that needs to be put off, irradicated, or exorcised.

So, hear my true confession – I am a messie. Before you judge me – take a look at the those who share my proclivity for disorderliness: Albert Einstein, Arnold Swarzeneger and many, many people in acadamia as well as some who rank high on genius scale. Perhaps once I get passed my own fear of being rejected for my messines and allow myself to live with a little disorder, my true genius will come out 🙂 But then again, I may just end up being an ordinary messy.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

VBS, VBC, or VB Whatever – What do you do during Summer Vacation? Weekly or Daily Blogging


Sign Up for Email Newsletter!

Sign up to get email newsletter updates delivered straight to your inbox. I will send out a newsletter once or twice a year. I promise to never sell, trade, spam or do anything inappropriate with your information.
Click here to sign up!

Help STOP Sex Trafficking!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

ChapinChick on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives

© 2012 Chapin Chaotic Creations

