Prayereography

September 7, 2007 at 5:00 pm

I am currently going through a devotional called Body Prayer by Doug Pagitt. It has been a great inspiration to me and since I have kids and teach kids at church, I have decided to write a similar devotional for kids based on the virtue curriculum we use called 252 Basics.

So, my working title is Prayereography: Practicing Virtues through Prayer Positions

The first entry follows and I will publish one of these monthly.

Virtue:

Initiative – Seeing what needs to be done and doing it.

Bible Verse:

Don’t be jealous or proud, but be humble and consider others more important than yourselves. Care about them as much as you care about yourselves and think the same way that Christ Jesus thought. – Philippians 2:3-5 (CEV)

Devotional Thought:

Jesus gives us a great example of what it means to show initiative. God sent Jesus to die on the cross to forgive our sin. When Jesus was on earth, He saw how much sin we all have and knew He needed to die for us. Jesus didn’t think about saving His own life, instead He thought about saving your life and mine. Jesus saw what needed to be done and He did it – He gave up His own life so we could live with Him forever.

Prayer Position:

Stand up with your feet together. Take a step to the side so your feet are about shoulder width apart. While you are stepping to the side, point with one hand up towards the sky or ceiling. As you point up, look up and think about how you can take the first step and show initiative like Jesus. Take a moment to say the following prayer or make up your own.

Prayer:

God who lives before time began,
Jesus who died as part of God’s plan,
Forgive me when I wait and see
What others around can do for me.
Thank You, Jesus, that you did not wait,
But You took the first step before it was too late.
Help me today to look up and see
What needs to be done all around me.

Entry filed under: prayer, Prayereography, virtue.

Are you offended? Adoration


Sign Up for Email Newsletter!

Sign up to get email newsletter updates delivered straight to your inbox. I will send out a newsletter once or twice a year. I promise to never sell, trade, spam or do anything inappropriate with your information.
Click here to sign up!

Help STOP Sex Trafficking!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

ChapinChick on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives

© 2012 Chapin Chaotic Creations

