Memorial Day

May 25, 2008 at 2:07 pm 4 comments

I have been having some different thoughts this year about Memorial Day. I am having a hard time feeling good about all the people who have died in wars for America. While I honor those who have chosen to defend our freedom, I am not feeling as much proud as I am sad there have been so many who have died because of war. For many years I have viewed war as a necessary evil, and while as Christ follower I am committed to personal peace, and trying to resolve conflicts without resorting to violence, I have never been personally attacked and had to make a choice about whether or not to fight back. In the Gospel of Matthew we read, Here’s another old saying that deserves a second look: ‘Eye for eye, tooth for tooth.’ Is that going to get us anywhere? Here’s what I propose: ‘Don’t hit back at all.’ If someone strikes you, stand there and take it. If someone drags you into court and sues for the shirt off your back, giftwrap your best coat and make a present of it. And if someone takes unfair advantage of you, use the occasion to practice the servant life. No more tit-for-tat stuff. Live generously.You’re familiar with the old written law, ‘Love your friend,’ and its unwritten companion, ‘Hate your enemy.’ I’m challenging that. I’m telling you to love your enemies. Let them bring out the best in you, not the worst. When someone gives you a hard time, respond with the energies of prayer, for then you are working out of your true selves, your God-created selves. This is what God does. He gives his best—the sun to warm and the rain to nourish—to everyone, regardless: the good and bad, the nice and nasty. If all you do is love the lovable, do you expect a bonus? Anybody can do that. If you simply say hello to those who greet you, do you expect a medal? Any run-of-the-mill sinner does that. In a word, what I’m saying is, Grow up. You’re kingdom subjects. Now live like it. Live out your God-created identity. Live generously and graciously toward others, the way God lives toward you.” (The Message)

Another translation says, “Do not resist an evil person.”

I used to live just outside NY City when I was 17. I took a self defense class and learned how to try and avoid attack. I’ve walked alone in dark and dangerous places and prepared in my mind what I would do if attacked. But I have often had this nagging conflict – is violence ever an answer – even in self-defense? And those overused questions like “What Would Jesus Do?” haven’t really helped me much. I prefer to ask, “What will I do with the Spirit of Christ dwelling in me in this situation?” I’ve heard stories of people who have practiced non-violent responses to attacks and reacted in the power of the Holy Spirit and had miraculous results.

So, during this weekend of remembering those who have died because of violence, I am wondering is it possible to live out my God-created identity as described in Matthew 5? Is it possible for an entire society to live this way, or will our nation always need to respond with violence to threats or attacks? What do you think?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

S#*! Happens How Jesus Christ Superstar, the Movie, Influenced my Theology

4 Comments

  • 1. Helen  |  May 25, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    So, during this weekend of remembering those who have died because of violence, I am wondering is it possible to live out my God-created identity as described in Matthew 5? Is it possible for an entire society to live this way, or will our nation always need to respond with violence to threats or attacks? What do you think?

    I don’t know whether it would always work for a nation to ‘turn the other cheek’.

    I’d definitely like to see the US less quick to use violence than it has been in recent history.

  • 2. benjamin ady  |  May 25, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    Elizabeth,

    Thank you for writing =)

    I don’t think it’s possible. My only basis for saying that is that I myself can’t pull it off in much smaller ways–I fall into using violent language toward people, for instance–what Ghandi called “passive violence”.

    But I still hope for it. That’s a contradiction, in some ways, hoping for it and not believing it’s possible at the same time.

    Sometimes I think hope was actually the very worst thing to come out of Pandora’s box.

    I’m fairly certain of this: If it does happen, it won’t be the U.S. who takes the lead. At least not in our current state. We’d definitely have to step back from being the biggest supplier of arms to the world, and from having the biggest most powerful military. And we’d have to follow South Africa’s lead, and dismantle our nuclear weapons program and get rid of all our nuclear warheads. These would be steps along the road about whose possibility you are pondering. Just looking at these brief steps seems to speak to the very impossibility of it, for us as a nation.

    This all touches on the absurdity of the fact that the rest of the world thinks of the U.S. as a “Christian nation”. It should be qualified: “Christian subtract Matthew 5-7, Luke 12 … etc.”

  • 3. Elizabeth Chapin  |  May 25, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    Benjamin, very candid comments. I just read a great young adult book that brought both domestic violence and war into an interesting perspective – it’s called, “Quaking” by Kathryn Erskine.

    I agree with your thoughts that the U.S. “Christian Nation” status should come with a qualification – or rather, a disqualification.

    Thanks for commenting.

  • 4. Aplomb  |  June 19, 2008 at 1:40 am

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Aplomb.

Trackback this post


Sign Up for Email Newsletter!

Sign up to get email newsletter updates delivered straight to your inbox. I will send out a newsletter once or twice a year. I promise to never sell, trade, spam or do anything inappropriate with your information.
Click here to sign up!

Help STOP Sex Trafficking!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

ChapinChick on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives

© 2012 Chapin Chaotic Creations

