Seminary Study Time

October 9, 2008 at 9:08 am 3 comments

I am spending a week in Portland studying for my Master of Arts in Ministry Leadership degree. It will take me three years to finish the work for the degree, with one week of classes per semester in Portland and the rest of the work done in online discussion forums and chats. I love this hybrid model of learning.

One thing I have been learning about is the humanity of Christ and the idea that Christ came to make us more human, or truly human. I have been thinking about this quite a bit and will blog about this topic soon.

Yesterday, we took the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator. I really don’t like labels like this, so please don’t stereotype me according to this label. I took the test 15 years ago and scored differently. All these assessments are merely tools to help us understand ourselves and others, but I find too often people use these labels to define and confine themselves, and then excuse poor behavior saying, “that’s just the way I am.”

So, if you really want to put me in a box, here’s some labels for you.

According to Myers-Briggs, I am an ENFP.

According to the Temperaments, I am a San-Mel.

According to the Enneagram, I am a 7 – the Enthusiast.

According to my kids, I am weird.

According to my husband, I am passionate and kind.

According to my former boss and friend, Norv, I am a big-bucket person.

According to my classmates…

Feel free to add your own label, I’d love to know your assessment of my personality 😉

Entry filed under: human nature, relationships, Uncategorized.

Mission, Missional, and Missionary Born Again Church Tour 2008 in Denver

3 Comments

  • 1. Derek  |  October 9, 2008 at 11:03 am

    According to Derek, you’re a brainiac.

  • 2. Carol  |  October 23, 2008 at 9:46 am

    Elizabeth…
    Sometimes I feel like a dork. Believe it or not I’ve read your blog (thanks to a connection from the Jesus Creed), but didn’t realize you were a MAML student. That’s the dork part– you see I am too–I’m in the 07 cohort. In fact I realize we even talked for a brief moment during F2F about inductive Bible Studies and I popped in when you were talking with Darla. Yep I’m the “gray-haired” one.

    You live in the Seattle area right? I live in Gig Harbor…maybe we can get together sometime…before the next F2F… Thanks for the updates on the Born Again Tour. Thankfully some youth staff and others from our church went the prior weekend in Seattle.

    Keep writing…you have a way with words and what you say is needful.

    Shalom,
    Carol

  • 3. Elizabeth Chapin  |  October 23, 2008 at 10:25 am

    Carol, great to connect with you here! I’m glad we met and would love to get together sometime. I’ll shoot you an email and we’ll figure something out. Thanks for the encouragement about words.

Trackback this post


Sign Up for Email Newsletter!

Sign up to get email newsletter updates delivered straight to your inbox. I will send out a newsletter once or twice a year. I promise to never sell, trade, spam or do anything inappropriate with your information.
Click here to sign up!

Help STOP Sex Trafficking!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

ChapinChick on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives

© 2012 Chapin Chaotic Creations

