New Year, New Opportunities

January 16, 2010 at 11:22 am 1 comment

I am now officially half way through my degree program at George Fox Evangelical Seminary. I have been enrolled in the Master of Arts in Ministry Leadership Cohort program and enjoying it very much. It is a Virtual Learning Community where we do most of our work in an online Moodle Teaching and Learning Environment with face-to-face gatherings for eight days once each semester. I have colleagues in my classes from Alaska, Colorado, Ohio (Go Buckeyes!), Pennsylvania, Kentucky, and elsewhere. It is a great group of people to learn with.

Along with my learning, I have continued to do contract work in various forms – from manuscript editing to website creation and the job opportunities for this year look even more promising. This year is looking like a fun year so far with contracts to do website content management, social media strategies and editing a children’s book. Some weeks I put in full-time hours on my contract jobs, other weeks it’s only a few hours – that’s the nature of contract work.

Anna and Andy (a guy reading Seventeen Magazine??) from Shoreline Vineyard

In the volunteer realm, I have been helping with the Youth at Vineyard Community Church in Shoreline since last fall and have taken on some new responsibilities this fall. VCC in Shoreline has been a great place for me to experience missional community and learn what it’s like to be a part of a smaller community church than what I experienced most of my adult life.

This next eighteen months will be a time of discernment for me. I am exploring God’s calling for what I should do when I graduate in the Spring of 2011. I have considered church planting, joining an existing church and helping it grow missionally, further education so I can teach, and writing. It’s possible I may end up doing a little bit of each, but I am seeking God’s direction as to my focus once I have completed my degree.

In the past I have been criticized for “doing too many things” for “not sticking with one thing” and pressured to conform to others expectations of what it means to be a leader. I have also been affirmed in the past for being a “big bucket” person, passionate and devoted to whatever work I am involved with, well connected to the community and according to a Strengths Based Leadership assessment, my leadership strengths are:

  • Strategic
  • Woo – whatever that means 😉
  • Connectedness
  • Positivity
  • Communication

I am part of a Spiritual Direction group with other women in leadership and this group has been a huge blessing to me. It’s not a support group, it’s not a Bible study. Spiritual Direction is a part of my spiritual formation – an especially important part during this season of discernment.

With the new year, I plan to continue to occasionally blog on things that I am learning in my classes and my experience working with youth in a missional community, as well as my journey of discernment.

Entry filed under: blogging, church, Missional, school, Uncategorized, writing.

Personal Branding Ministry in Contemporary Culture Seminar Series

1 Comment

  • 1. walkin india  |  February 22, 2010 at 8:11 pm

    solved properly asap.

Trackback this post


Sign Up for Email Newsletter!

Sign up to get email newsletter updates delivered straight to your inbox. I will send out a newsletter once or twice a year. I promise to never sell, trade, spam or do anything inappropriate with your information.
Click here to sign up!

Help STOP Sex Trafficking!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

ChapinChick on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives

© 2012 Chapin Chaotic Creations

